£800/month · for the whole flat
1-bed flat in Mitcham
Mitcham
- Flat · 1 bed
- Bills extra
- Council tax extra
- Broadband not stated
Last updated 28 October. Check with the firm before you go.
Property guardian rooms in
94 listings from 10 firms · from £450 a month
1 listing
+7 with no borough — show them
£800/month · for the whole flat
Mitcham
Showing 1 of 1
Thinking of applying? Read our guides for property guardians.
Each firm's general rules, not written on every listing. Check with the firm before you apply.
Scroll sideways for more columns →
| Firm | Notice you give | Notice they give you | Minimum stay | Minimum age | Security deposit | Holding deposit | What's included | Pets | Couples | Students | Employment / income | Checks | Visits and inspections | House rules | If the building closes | Living there | How to apply |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ad Hoc Property | 28 days' notice | At least 28 days | Not stated | 21+ | 5 weeks' payment in total, including the holding deposit | 1 week's payment, counts towards the security deposit (not paid on top) | Contents insurance for your own things isn't provided | Not allowed | Not stated | Not stated | Employment: income or savings | credit check, references | Says its staff can come in at any time | No smoking indoors. No parties. Ask the firm before decorating | Says guardians whose building closes get priority for its other homes (not guaranteed) | Partners or guests can't live with you permanently unless the firm approves them | Register first, then get viewing invitations. Back-up address required |
| Blue Door Property Guardians | 28 days' notice | 28 days | Not stated | 25+. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | Typically £400. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | Not stated | This firm doesn't usually include broadband in the monthly payment. Most homes are unfurnished. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Employed or self-employed | credit check, references, criminal-record check (DBS) | Regular inspections (how often isn't stated) | Its house rules aren't on its website, so ask for them before you sign | Says it may help you find another of its homes if one is free (not guaranteed) | Not stated | Register first, then get viewing invitations |
| Corporate Guardians | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | This firm usually includes bills in the monthly payment | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Regular inspections (how often isn't stated) | Not stated | Not stated | Aimed at contractors and work teams; individuals welcome | Contact the firm to arrange a viewing |
| DEX Property Guardians | 1 month's notice. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | At least 28 days | Not stated | 18+ (higher at some properties) | 5 weeks' payment | Not stated | This firm doesn't usually include broadband in the monthly payment. Most homes are unfurnished | Not allowed | It depends on the property | Not stated | Full-time employed or self-employed (no part-time). Guarantors not accepted. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | credit check, references | Monthly inspections, without warning. Says its staff can come in at any time | No smoking. Ask the firm before decorating. You can't run a business from the home. Tell the firm before long absences | Says guardians whose building closes get priority for its other homes (not guaranteed) | A second person living there must meet the firm's criteria too | Contact the firm to arrange a viewing |
| Dot Dot Dot | 28 days' notice | 28 days | Not stated | 18+ | 5 weeks' payment | Not stated | Not stated | Not allowed | It depends on the property. If two of you share, you each pay 65% of the single price | Accepted | No employment requirement. Yearly income at least 30 times the monthly payment. You must volunteer 12 hours a month (a condition of living there). Guarantors not accepted. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | credit check, references | Monthly inspections, without warning | No smoking indoors. Guests: at most 3 at a time; one may stay overnight up to 3 nights a week. No parties. You can't run a business from the home. Tell the firm before long absences | Says it may help you find another of its homes if one is free (not guaranteed). You must keep a plan for where you'd go if asked to leave (a "move-on plan") | A second person living there must meet the firm's criteria too | Apply first, then book a viewing |
| Global Guardians | 28 days' notice | At least 28 days | Not stated | 21+ | Required (amount not stated). Other payments: a key payment (amount not stated) | Not stated | Not stated | Not allowed | It depends on the property | Not accepted | Full-time employed or self-employed (no part-time). Income of at least £18,000 a year. Can't accept part-time workers, people on zero-hours contracts or people living on government benefits. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | references | Monthly inspections, without warning. Says its staff can come in at any time. Says it can move you to another room. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | No parties. Ask the firm before decorating. You can't run a business from the home | Says it may help you find another of its homes if one is free (not guaranteed) | You can't live with anyone under 21. A second person living there must meet the firm's criteria too. Partners or guests can't live with you permanently unless the firm approves them | Register first, then get viewing invitations. Be ready to move in within 5 working days. 1 month upfront. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them |
| Guardian Secure | Not stated | Typically 28 days | Not stated | 21+ | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | references | Regular inspections (how often isn't stated) | Its house rules aren't on its website, so ask for them before you sign | Says it may help you find another of its homes if one is free (not guaranteed) | Not stated | Apply first, then book a viewing. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them |
| Halo Guardians | 28 days' notice | Not stated | Not stated | 21+ | 1 month's payment. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | 1 week's payment, counts towards the first payment. The firm says this isn't refunded. In England a holding deposit must normally be refunded or taken off your first payment — ask them. | This firm doesn't usually include broadband in the monthly payment. Rooms are unfurnished | Usually not permitted | Yes, you pay 50–75% more than one person | Not stated | Full-time employment required. A guarantor is asked for if you are on a zero-hours contract or self-employed | references, criminal-record check (DBS) | Surprise inspections (how often isn't stated). Says its staff can come in at any time | Ask the firm before decorating. Its house rules aren't on its website, so ask for them before you sign | Says it may help you find another of its homes if one is free (not guaranteed) | Stays typically last 6–8 months | Apply first, then book a viewing |
| LOWE Guardians (The LOWE Group) | 28 days' notice | At least 28 days | Not stated | 21+ | Required (amount not stated) | Not stated | This firm doesn't usually include broadband in the monthly payment | Not allowed | The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | Not accepted. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | Full-time employment required. Income of at least £15,000 a year. Guarantors not accepted. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | references, criminal-record check (DBS) | Monthly inspections, without warning. Says its staff can come in at any time. Says it can move you to another room | No smoking. Guests: at most 2 at a time; none may stay longer than 48 hours. No parties. Ask the firm before decorating. You can't run a business from the home. Tell the firm before long absences. Lost keys are charged for | Says it may help you find another of its homes if one is free (not guaranteed) | You can't live with anyone under 21 | Apply first, then book a viewing |
| VPS Guardians | 28 days' notice | At least 28 days | Not stated | Not stated | Required (amount not stated). Returned within 28 days of leaving | Not stated | Most homes are unfurnished. Contents insurance for your own things isn't provided. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them | Not stated | It depends on the property | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Regular inspections (how often isn't stated) | Ask the firm before decorating. Tell the firm before long absences | Not stated | Not stated | Register first, then get viewing invitations |
54 of the 94 London listings publish a price for one person: from £450 up to £3,750 a month, with a middle figure of £750. 9 of them only give a starting price, so the real cost can be higher. 13 say bills are included. We show what the firms publish, so you can set that against other options.
What you give up is security: a guardian usually signs a licence rather than a tenancy, which in England means fewer legal protections and shorter notice (at least 4 weeks on a rolling licence). Buildings can also differ from ordinary homes. Whether it is worth it depends on the price, the notice period and the building, which the listing and the firm's page spell out.
You apply to the firm that manages the building. Each firm below has its own process, and the table above shows what each one says about age, checks and how to apply.
How to apply: Ad Hoc Property: register first, then get viewing invitations. back-up address required; Blue Door Property Guardians: register first, then get viewing invitations; Corporate Guardians: contact the firm to arrange a viewing; DEX Property Guardians: contact the firm to arrange a viewing; Dot Dot Dot: apply first, then book a viewing; Global Guardians: register first, then get viewing invitations. be ready to move in within 5 working days. 1 month upfront. the firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them; Guardian Secure: apply first, then book a viewing. the firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them; Halo Guardians: apply first, then book a viewing; LOWE Guardians (The LOWE Group): apply first, then book a viewing; VPS Guardians: register first, then get viewing invitations. Minimum age: Ad Hoc Property 21+; Blue Door Property Guardians 25+. The firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them; DEX Property Guardians 18+ (higher at some properties); Dot Dot Dot 18+; Global Guardians 21+; Guardian Secure 21+; Halo Guardians 21+; LOWE Guardians (The LOWE Group) 21+. Checks the firms state: credit, reference and DBS.
No listing here pays the guardian: every one of the 54 priced London listings is a monthly payment that the guardian pays.
Some firms also require guardians to volunteer: Dot Dot Dot, 12 hours a month (a condition of living there).
54 of the 94 London listings publish a price for one person: from £450 up to £3,750 a month, with a middle figure of £750. 9 of them only give a starting price, so the real cost can be higher. By type: rooms: £450–£1,000 (middle £750); studios: £670–£900 (middle £720).
Security deposit: Ad Hoc Property: 5 weeks' payment in total, including the holding deposit; Blue Door Property Guardians: typically £400. the firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them; DEX Property Guardians: 5 weeks' payment; Dot Dot Dot: 5 weeks' payment; Global Guardians: required (amount not stated). other payments: a key payment (amount not stated); Halo Guardians: 1 month's payment. the firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them; LOWE Guardians (The LOWE Group): required (amount not stated); VPS Guardians: required (amount not stated). returned within 28 days of leaving.
Holding deposit: Ad Hoc Property: 1 week's payment, counts towards the security deposit (not paid on top); Halo Guardians: 1 week's payment, counts towards the first payment. The firm says this isn't refunded. In England a holding deposit must normally be refunded or taken off your first payment — ask them..
In England a security deposit is capped at 5 weeks' payment and a holding deposit at 1 week's. Bills are sometimes included and sometimes not: each listing page says which, and the All-in price on a card adds the extras the firm lists.
23 London boroughs have live listings right now: Camden (14), Kensington and Chelsea (10), Tower Hamlets (9), Bromley (6), Croydon (5), Hackney (4), Haringey (4), Lewisham (4), Newham (4), Barnet (3), Brent (3), Southwark (3), Wandsworth (3), Ealing (2), Hammersmith and Fulham (2), Lambeth (2), Redbridge (2), Richmond upon Thames (2), Greenwich (1), Hounslow (1), Islington (1), Kingston upon Thames (1), Merton (1). 7 listings do not give a borough.
Notice the firms state: Ad Hoc Property: 28 days' notice; Blue Door Property Guardians: 28 days' notice; DEX Property Guardians: 1 month's notice. the firm's own pages disagree on this, so ask them; Dot Dot Dot: 28 days' notice; Global Guardians: 28 days' notice; Halo Guardians: 28 days' notice; LOWE Guardians (The LOWE Group): 28 days' notice; VPS Guardians: 28 days' notice.
In England a guardian usually has a licence rather than a tenancy, and a rolling licence needs at least 4 weeks' notice. The agreement you sign sets the notice period, so read it before you pay anything.
General information, not legal advice.
Figures come from the listings above and from each firm's published terms. This is general information, not advice.